Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes ofwebsite accessibility

Two former Nevada basketball players selected in NBA G League draft

Lindsey Drew
Lindsey Drew attacks the basket against Boise State during his Nevada career. (Byrne Photo/Nevada athletics)

Ex-Nevada basketball point guards Lindsey Drew and Devearl Ramsey were selected in the three-round NBA G League draft Saturday.

Ramsey, who played for Nevada for one season in 2016-17 before transferring to Santa Barbara, was the No. 19 pick of the second round (47th overall) by the Birmingham Squadron, affiliate of the New Orleans Pelicans. Drew, who played for Nevada in four seasons over a five-year period from 2015-20, was the No. 18 pick of the third round (No. 69 overall) by the Maine Celtics, affiliate of the Boston Celtics. Drew was later traded to the Rio Grande Valley Vipers, affiliate of the Houston Rockets, in exchange for Cullen Russo and Eric Demers.

Drew helped Nevada win four Mountain West championships and reach three NCAA Tournaments during his career. He tallied 982 points, 654 rebounds, 508 assists, 168 steals and 106 blocks at Nevada. The 6-foot-4, 180-pound Drew was a two-time honoree on the MW's all-defensive team. He was All-MW honorable mention as a senior. In July, Drew signed with a pro team in Cyprus.

Ramsey was a top-150 recruit who came to Nevada in 2016-17 but played sparingly during his freshman season, averaging 0.8 points and 1.0 assists in 8.2 minutes per game. A 6-foot, 185-pounder, Ramsey transferred to Santa Barbara, where he averaged 7.0 points, 2.9 rebounds and 2.6 assists per game.

G League Draft

Round one

1.Delaware – Shamorie Ponds

2.College Park – Tyler Hagedorn

3.Fort Wayne – Gabe York

4.Westchester – Justin Turner

5.Agua Caliente – Nate Darling

6.Sioux Falls – Brandon Knight

7.Texas – Eddie Stansberry

8.Motor City – Jaylen Johnson

9.Iowa – Michael Gbinije

10.Salt Lake City – Zaire Wade

11.Texas – Loudon Love

12.Santa Cruz – Alan Griffin

13.Grand Rapids – Lance Stephenson

14.Greensboro – LiAngelo Ball

15.Lakeland – TJ Haws

16.Cleveland – BJ Taylor

17.Windy City – Scottie Lindsey

18.Maine – Isaiah Ross

19.Iowa – Ruot Monyyong

20.Lakeland – Marlon Stewart

21.Stockton – Joe Young

22.Iowa – Samir Doughty

23.Greensboro – Chudier Bile

24.Capital City – Rodney Pryor

25.Windy City – Tim Bond

26.Greensboro – Tyree White

27.Cleveland – Montell McRae

28.Rio Grande Valley – Cullen Russo

Round two

1.Memphis – Karim Mane

2.College Park – Kalob Ledoux

3.Memphis – Gerard Tarin

4.Delaware – Barra Njie

5.Raptors 905 – Tahj Eaddy

6.Grand Rapids – Trevon Duval

7.Lakeland – Gary Chivichyan

8.Motor City – Ryan Daly

9.Wisconsin – Keaton Wallace

10.Salt Lake City – Pedro Bradshaw

11.Austin – Alexis Wangmeme

12.Fort Wayne – Ian DuBose

13.Sioux Falls – Mike Smith

14.Lakeland – Jaire Grayer

15.Raptors 905 – Blake Francis

16.Cleveland – Jack Pagenkopf

17.Lakeland – Devonte Patterson

18.Fort Wayne – Jordan Allen

19.Birmingham – Devearl Ramsey

20.Long Island – Chris Walker

21.Rio Grande Valley – Eric Demers

22.Birmingham – Derrick Griffin

23.Santa Cruz – Ja’Quan Lyle

24.Capital City – Jachai Taylor

25.Westchester – Lydell Elmore

26.Greensboro – Ikenna Ndugba

27.Oklahoma City – Tevin King

28.Agua Caliente – Kammeon Holsey

Round three

1.South Bay – Elijah Cain

2.College Park – Landon Taliaferro

3.Fort Wayne – Will Vorhees

4.Westchester – Asante Gist

5.Stockton – Princepal Singh

6.Grand Rapids – Trevor John

7.Raptors 905 – Tristan Jarrett

8.Motor City – Devon Baulkman

9.Wisconsin – Jaylen Bland

10.Salt Lake City – JC Show

11.Austin – Passed

12.Memphis – Passed

13.Sioux Falls – Joel Ntambwe

14.Delaware – Passed

15.Texas – Lamonte Bearden

16.Stockton – Passed

17.Delaware – Passed

18.Maine – Lindsey Drew

19.Iowa – Artur Labinowicz

20.Long Island – Jaylen Fisher

21.Agua Caliente – Randy Onwuasor

22.Iowa – Seth Allen

23.Santa Cruz – Jovan Mooring

24.Capital City – Jermaine Haley

25.Windy City – Kerwin Roach

26.Greensboro – Isaiah Blackmon

27.Oklahoma City – Marlon Taylor

28.Rio Grande Valley – Jimond Ivey

Offbeat News