Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes ofwebsite accessibility

Nevada's Carson Strong named to the Manning Award watch list

Carson Strong
Carson Strong leads Nevada into the 2021 season. (David Calvert/Nevada athletics)

The accolades continue to roll in for Nevada quarterback Carson Strong, who Thursday was named to his fourth preseason national watch list of the summer.

The latest was is the Manning Award, which was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes a candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting

Strong is one of two Mountain West quarterbacks included on the watch list, along with San Jose State’s Nick Starkel. In total, 32 players made the watch list.

The reigning MW offensive player of the year, Strong led the conference in passing yards (2,858), passing touchdowns (27), completion percentage (70.1) and ranked in the FBS top 10 in completions per game (27.7, second), passing yards per game (317.6, seventh), completion percentage (seventh), and touchdown passes (ninth) while coming in 11th in passing yards.

Strong also has been named to the Maxwell Award, Davey O’Brien Award and CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy watch lists.

Nevada opens the season Sept. 4 at Cal, with kickoff set for 7:30 p.m. on FS1. The Wolf Pack’s home opener is Sept. 11 against Idaho State on Nevada Sports Net.

Nevada preseason award candidates

WR Elijah Cooks: Biletnikoff Award

WR Romeo Doubs: Maxwell Award, Biletnikoff Award, Paul Hornung Award

LB Lawson Hall: Bednarik Award

OL Jermaine Ledbetter: Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

C Tyler Orsini: Rimington Trophy

DB Berdale Robins: Jim Thorpe Award

QB Carson Strong: Maxwell Award, Davey O’Brien Award, CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, Manning Award

K Brandon Talton: Lou Groza Award

TE Cole Turner: Biletnikoff Award, Mackey Award

Offbeat News