Ty Gangi, Malik Reed named Wolf Pack MVPs with Golden Helmet Award

Malik Reed
Malik Reed was one of two Wolf Pack players to win the Golden Helmet Award. (John Byrne/Nevada athletics)

The Nevada football team was in a sharing mood when it came to its postseason awards.

For the first time since publicly handing out honors in 1994, the Wolf Pack gave out two Golden Helmet Awards, which goes to the team's MVP. The award was shared by quarterback Ty Gangi and linebacker Malik Reed. Gangi is the second Wolf Pack player to win multiple Golden Helmet Awards, joining Colin Kaepernick, who won three straight from 2008-10.

This year also marked the first time Nevada gave out two defensive player of the year awards. Here is the complete list of winners, which was announced Sunday night at the team’s banquet at the Eldorado Resort.

2018 Nevada Football Awards

Golden Helmet Award (MVP): Ty Gangi and Malik Reed.

Outstanding Offensive Player: McLane Mannix

Outstanding Defensive Player: Asauni Rufus and Dameon Baber

Outstanding Special Teams Player: Justin Brent

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Toa Taua

Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Jomon Dotson

Basalite Big Blocker: Sean Krepsz

Captains Awards: Wes Farnsworth, Ty Gangi and Malik Reed

Offensive Hustle Award: Kaleb Fossum

Defensive Hustle Award: Korey Rush

Special Teams Hustle Award: Trae Carter-Wells

Offensive Scout Team Award: Carson Strong

Defensive Scout Team Award: Zak Mahannah

Special Teams Hustle Award: Lamin Touray

The Wolf Pack finished the year 7-5 overall and 5-3 in Mountain West play, taking second place in the West Division. Nevada is bowl eligible for the first time since 2015. The Mountain West is expected to announce bowl selections on Sunday.

Offbeat News