Nevada's Toa Taua, Malik Reed, Korey Rush win All-Mountain West honors

Toa Taua
Toa Taua is the Mountain West freshman of the year. (John Byrne/Nevada athletics)

Three Wolf Pack football players picked up All-Mountain West honors Wednesday when the conference released its postseason awards.

Running back Toa Taua was named the MW freshman of the year, becoming the first Wolf Pack player to earn that honor since Nevada moved to the conference in 2012. Defensive end Korey Rush and linebacker Malik Reed also earned first-team All-MW accolades. It was the second straight season Reed was named first-team All-MW, but his first time at linebacker after moving from defensive end last season.

Taua led the Wolf Pack with 816 rushing yards and six touchdowns, the yardage total ranking 10th nationally among freshman. He averaged 5.23 yards per carry and is the eighth running back named the MW freshman of the year, the first since San Diego State's Ronnie Hillman in 2010.

Reed led the MW in tackles for loss (15.5) and forced fumbles (four), was fourth in sacks (eight) and fifth in fumble recoveries (two) while adding 72 tackles. Rush suffered a season-ending broken foot during Nevada's ninth game but still finished with six sacks and 11.5 tackles for loss. The senior duo helped Nevada cut its points allowed per game from 33.9 to 28.1 and its yards allowed per game from 471.3 to 378.3.

Nevada had seven All-MW honorable mentions, the second most in the conference. They included DB Dameon Baber; DB Daniel Brown; P Quinton Conaway; OL Sean Krepsz; WR McLane Mannix; OL Jake Nelson; and DB Asauni Rufus.

Fresno State led the first- and second-team honorees with 10 selections, followed by Boise State (eight), Utah State (eight), San Diego State (five), Wyoming (four), San Jose State (three), Colorado State (three), Hawaii (two), Nevada (two), New Mexico (two), Air Force (two) and UNLV (one).

Boise State quarterback Brett Rypien was named the MW offensive player of the year; Fresno State linebacker Jeff Allison was the defensive player of the year; Wyoming kicker Cooper Rothe the special teams player of the year; and Utah State's Matt Wells the coach of the year. Here are the full list of honorees.

Mountain West Awards


Brett Rypien, Sr., QB, Boise State


Jeff Allison, Jr., LB, Fresno State


Cooper Rothe, Jr., PK, Wyoming


Toa Taua, RB, Nevada


Matt Wells, Utah State



QB Brett Rypien, Boise State

WR Preston Williams, Colorado State

WR John Ursua, Hawai‘i

RB Alexander Mattison, Boise State

RB Nico Evans, Wyoming

TE Josh Oliver, San José State

OL Ezra Cleveland, Boise State

OL John Molchon, Boise State

OL Christian Cronk, Fresno State

OL Keith Ismael, San Diego State

OL Quin Ficklin, Utah State

PK Cooper Rothe, Wyoming

PR/KR Savon Scarver, Utah State


DL Jabril Frazier, Boise State

DL Curtis Weaver, Boise State

DL Mykal Walker, Fresno State

DL Korey Rush, Nevada

LB Jeff Allison, Fresno State

LB Malik Reed, Nevada

LB Kyahva Tezino, San Diego State

DB Tyler Horton, Boise State

DB Tank Kelly, Fresno State

DB Dakari Monroe, San José State

DB Andrew Wingard, Wyoming

P Ryan Stonehouse, Colorado State



QB Jordan Love, Utah State

WR Sean Modster, Boise State

WR KeeSean Johnson, Fresno State

RB Lexington Thomas, UNLV

RB Darwin Thompson, Utah State

TE Jared Rice, Fresno State

OL Griffin Landrum, Air Force

OL Micah St. Andrew, Fresno State

OL Aaron Jenkins, New Mexico

OL Ryan Pope, San Diego State

OL Roman Andrus, Utah State

PK John Baron II, San Diego State

PR/KR Marcus Hayes, New Mexico


DL Jordan Jackson, Air Force

DL Kaimana Padello, Hawai‘i

DL Bryson Bridges, San José State

DL Carl Granderson, Wyoming

LB Josh Watson, Colorado State

LB Tipa Galeai, Utah State

LB David Woodward, Utah State

DB Mike Bell, Fresno State

DB Juju Hughes, Fresno State

DB Tariq Thompson, San Diego State

DB Jontrell Rocquemore, Utah State

P Blake Cusick, Fresno State


Air Force: Jeremy Fejedelem, Jr., DB.

Boise State: Durrant Miles, Sr., DL; Kekoa Nawahine, Jr., DB; Avery Williams, So, RS/DB.

Colorado State: None

Fresno State: Jaron Bryant, Jr., DB; Jasad Haynes, Jr, DL; George Helmuth, Sr., LB; Marcus McMaryion, Sr., QB.

Hawaii: Zeno Choi, Sr., DL; Rojesterman Farris II, Jr.; DB; Cole McDonald, So., QB; Jahlani Tavai, Sr., LB; Solo Vaipulu, Fr., OL.

Nevada: Dameon Baber, Sr., DB; Daniel Brown, Jr., DB; Quinton Conaway, Jr., P; Sean Krepsz, Sr., OL; McLane Mannix, So., WR; Jake Nelson, Jr., OL Asauni Rufus, Sr., DB.

New Mexico: Aaron Blackwell, Jr., DL; Tyson Dyer, So., P; Marcus Hayes, Fr., DB.

San Diego State: Parker Baldwin, Sr., DB; Noble Hall, Sr., DL; Brandon Heicklen, Jr., P; Kahale Warring, Jr., TE; Juwan Washington, Jr., RB.

San José State: Ethan Aguayo, Jr., LB; Thai Cottrell, Sr., RS; Bryce Crawford, Sr., P; Boogie Roberts, Sr., DL.

UNLV: Nathan Jacobson, Sr., OL; Roger Mann, Sr., DL; Justin Polu, Jr., OL.

Utah State: Adewale Adeoye, Sr., DL; Rob Castaneda, Sr., OL; Dominik Eberle, Jr., PK; Gaje Ferguson, Sr., DB; Fua Leilua, Jr., DL; Dax Raymond, Jr., TE; Christopher Unga, Jr., DL; DJ Williams, Jr., DB. Ron’Quavion Tarver, Sr., WR Sean Taylor, Sr., OL.

Wyoming: Tyler Hall, Jr., DB; Logan Wilson, Jr., LB.

Offbeat News