Nevada's Eric Musselman one of 15 nominees for national coach of the year

Eric Musselman
Eric Musselman celebrates his 100th win earlier this season. (John Byrne/Nevada athletics)

The Naismith Award on Wednesday announced the 15 nominees for national basketball coach of the year, and Nevada's Eric Musselman made the cut.

The Wolf Pack has been ranked in the top 12 of the nation the entire season, and has one 14-game win streak and another 10-game win streak during the year. Nevada is 25-2, which marks the third-most wins in the nation and the second-fewest losses. The Wolf Pack reached a program-best fifth in the AP Top 25 and USA Today Coaches Poll earlier this season.

Musselman inherited a 9-22 team and has gone 106-31 in four seasons with the Wolf Pack, including two NCAA Tournament appearances (one Sweet 16) and two Mountain West regular-season crowns. Earlier this season, Musselman became the fastest coach in MW history to reach 100 wins.

Musselman is one of five coaches from a non-power conference to make the cut, joining Gonzaga's Mark Few, Buffalo's Nate Oats, Houston's Kelvin Sampson and Wofford's Mike Young. Here is the full list.

* Rick Barnes, Tennessee

* Chris Beard, Texas Tech

* John Beilein, Michigan

* Tony Bennett, Virginia

* Mark Few, Gonzaga

* Tom Izzo, Michigan State

* Mike Krzyewski, Duke

* Chris Mack, Louisville

* Eric Musselman, Nevada

* Nate Oats, Buffalo

* Matt Painter, Purdue

* Kelvin Sampson, Houston

* Roy Williams, North Carolina

* Steve Wojciechowski, Marquette

* Mike Young, Wofford

Offbeat News