Nevada baseball picked to finish second in Mountain West; three make All-MW team

Josh Zamora
Josh Zamora was named to the All-Mountain West team. (Nick Beaton/Nevada athletics)

The Mountain West baseball coaches don't see Nevada repeating as regular-season conference champions, but they do forecast a rosy picture for the Wolf Pack.

Nevada was picked to finish second in the seven-team conference in the preseason poll, which was released Wednesday. The Wolf Pack received two of the seven first-place votes. San Diego State earned four of those votes and was picked to win the conference. Fresno State got one first-place vote and finished third overall. UNLV was fourth, followed by Air Force, New Mexico and San Jose State.

Three Nevada players also made the All-MW team, including infielder Joshua Zamora, pitcher Jake Jackson and catcher Kaleb Foster.

Zamora posted one of the best freshman seasons in Nevada history, batting .427 in MW play en route to being named the 2018 MW freshman of the year. He hit a team-high nine home runs while finishing with a .355 average. Jackson led the MW with six wins in conference play and compiled a team-high 77 strikeouts as a freshman. Foster had a breakout junior season and was named first-team All-MW after hitting .378 in conference play.

The Wolf Pack is coming off a 29-24 season and won the MW with a 20-9 in conference mark. San Diego State won the conference tournament last season to earn the league's NCAA Regional berth. Nevada will host this season's MW Tournament.

Nevada opens the year Friday against No. 24 Missouri State in the Texas State tournament at 10 a.m. Pacific time. NSN's Alex Margulies will be on the call on 94.1 FM/1450 AM.

MW preseason poll

1. San Diego State (4), 32

2. Nevada (2), 29

3. Fresno State (1), 28

4. UNLV, 24

5. Air Force, 14

6. New Mexico, 12

7. San JoseState, 8

All-MW team

C Carter Bins, Fresno State

C Kaleb Foster, Nevada

1B Nic Ready, Air Force

SS Bryson Stott, UNLV

3B Joshua Zamora, Nevada

OF Zach Ashford, Fresno State

OF Jared Mang, New Mexico

OF Julian Escobedo, San Diego State

OF Max Smith, UNLV

P Jake Jackson, Nevada

P Logan Boyer, San Diego State

P Casey Schmitt, San Diego State

P Andrew Mitchel, San Jose State

Offbeat News